Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the executive committee of the Graduate Faculty and is responsible for the formulation of academic policy and programs related to graduate study at Mississippi State University. In addition, the Council may advise the Dean of the Graduate School on any matter they, or the Dean, feel is appropriate. The Chairperson of the Graduate Council is elected by and from the members of the Council.

The Council consists of one elected member from each of the eight academic colleges offering graduate study (programs), a graduate student association representative, and one fewer in number (seven) appointed by the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, of which at least one must represent interdisciplinary programs. Not more than two appointed faculty members may be from the same college or school. To be eligible for membership on the Council, members must hold Graduate Faculty status. The term of office is three academic years. A vacancy on the Council is filled in the same manner in which the member vacating the position was selected. In addition to the faculty, the Council has one graduate student representative who is usually the president of the Graduate Student Association. S/he is a voting member, and the term of office is one academic year.

Ex-officio members include:

- · Dean of the Graduate School;
- · Associate Dean of the Graduate School;
- Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs;
- Executive Vice Provost;
- Vice President for Research and Economic Development;
- · Dean of University Libraries;
- Executive Director of Center for Distance Education;
- · Director of International Institute:
- · Chair of University Committee on Courses and Curricula;
- · Associate University Registrar; and
- · Director of Academic Quality, Institutional Effectiveness

Officers

Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Ph.D., Chair

Professor, Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education College of Education

Russell Carr, Ph.D., Vice-Chair

Associate Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Ex-Officio Members

Peter L. Ryan, Ph.D.

Executive Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

W. Brien Henry, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of the Graduate School

David R. Shaw, Ph.D.

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dan Reynolds, Ph.D.

Assistant Vice President/Executive Director, International Institute

Lis Pankl, Ph.D.

Dean of University Libraries

Susan Seal, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Professional and Continuing Studies

Lauren Wright

Director of the International Institute

Andy Perkins, Ph.D.

Chair, University Committee on Courses and Curricula

Emily Shaw, M.S.

Associate Registrar

Dana Franz, Ph.D.

Director of Academic Quality, Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness

Elected Members

Richard Harkess, Ph.D., 2026

Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Glen Fulton, M.S., 2026

Assistant Professor, Interior Design College of Architecture, Art, and Design

Joanne Beriswill, Ph.D., 2026

Associate Professor, Instructional Systems and Workforce Development College of Education

Kevin Armstrong, Ph.D., 2025

Associate Professor, Psychology College of Arts and Sciences

Heidi Renninger, Ph.D., 2025

Associate Professor, Forestry College of Forest Resources

Priscilla Hill, Ph.D., 2024

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering Bagley College of Engineering

Russell Carr, Ph.D., 2024, Vice-Chair

Associate Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Mike Highfield, Ph.D., 2025

Professor, Real Estate Finance College of Business

Appointed Members

Larry Hanson, Ph.D., 2024

Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Luke Tucker, 2024

Graduate Student Association President

Adrian Sescu, Ph.D., 2024

Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering Bagley College of Engineering

Sandra Orozco Aleman, Ph.D., 2023

Associate Professor, Finance and Economics College of Business

Nick Fitzkee, Ph.D., 2025

Associate Professor, Chemistry College of Arts and Sciences

Kevin Hunt, Ph.D., 2025

Professor, Wildlife, Fisheries, & Aquaculture College of Forest Resources

Kelly Wamsley, Ph.D., 2025

Associate Professor, Poultry Science College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Chair, Ph.D., 2025

Professor, Curriculum, Instruction and Special Education College of Education