Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the executive committee of the Graduate Faculty and is responsible for the formulation of academic policy and programs related to graduate study at Mississippi State University. In addition, the Council may advise the Dean of the Graduate School on any matter they, or the Dean, feel is appropriate. The Chairperson of the Graduate Council is elected by and from the members of the Council.

The Council consists of one elected member from each of the eight academic colleges offering graduate study (programs), and one fewer in number (seven) appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Not more than two appointed faculty members may be from the same college or school. To be eligible for membership on the Council, members must have Level 1 status on the Graduate Faculty. The term of office is three years. A vacancy on the Council is filled in the same manner in which the member vacating the position was selected. In addition to the faculty, the Council has one graduate student representative who is usually the president of the Graduate Student Association. She/he is a voting member, and the term of office is one year.

Ex officio members include the Dean of the Graduate School; Associate Dean of the Graduate School; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Associate Provost; Associate Vice President for Administrative Services; Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Dean of University Libraries; Director of Center for Distance Education; Director of International Institute; Chairman of University Committee on Courses and Curricula; Associate University Registrar; and Director of Institutional Effectiveness.

Officers

Lara Dodds, Ph.D., 2019, Chair Associate Professor, English College of Arts & Sciences

Russell Carr, Ph.D., 2019, Vice Chair Associate Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Ex Officio Members

Amy Adkerson, M.S. Associate Registrar

Judy L. Bonner, Ph.D.

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Lori Mann Bruce, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School

Tim Chamblee, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness

Frances N. Coleman, M.L.S.

Dean of University Libraries

Dana Franz, Ph.D.

Chair, University Committee on Courses and Curricula

Brien L. Henry, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Julia Hodges, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Rick Nader, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President & Executive Director, International Institute

Peter L. Ryan, Ph.D.

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

Susan Seal, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Center for Distance Education

David R. Shaw, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Elected Members

Deborah Eakin, Ph.D., 2018

Associate Professor, Psychology College of Arts & Sciences

T.J. Jankun-Kelly, Ph.D., 2018

Associate Professor, Computer Science and Engineering Bagley College of Engineering

Scott Roberts, Ph.D., 2018

Professor, Forestry

College of Forest Resources

Joel Collier, Ph.D., 2019

Associate Professor, Marketing, Quantitative Analysis, and Business Law College of Business

Chien Yu, Ph.D., 2019

Professor, Instructional Systems & Workforce Development College of Education

Richard Harkess, Ph.D., 2020

Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Beth Miller, Ph.D., 2020

Professor and Director, Interior Design College of Architecture, Art, and Design

Appointed Members

Priscilla Hill, Ph.D., 2018

Associate Professor, School of Chemical Engineering Bagley College of Engineering

Daniel Reynolds, Ph.D., 2018

Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Ph.D., 2018

Associate Professor, Curriculum, Instruction & Special Education College of Education

Henk Arnoldus, Ph.D., 2019

Professor, Physics & Astronomy College of Arts and Sciences

Ashli Brown Johnson, Ph.D., 2019

Assistant Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, and Plant Pathology College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Hamid Borazjani, Ph.D., 2020

Professor, Sustainable Bioproducts College of Forest Resources

Larry Hanson, Ph.D., 2020

Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Holly Holladay, 2018

Graduate Student Association Representative