Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the executive committee of the Graduate Faculty and is responsible for the formulation of academic policy and programs related to graduate study at Mississippi State University. In addition, the Council may advise the Dean of the Graduate School on any matter they, or the Dean, feel is appropriate. The Chairperson of the Graduate Council is elected by and from the members of the Council.

The Council consists of one elected member from each of the eight academic colleges offering graduate study (programs), and one fewer in number (seven) appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Not more than two appointed faculty members may be from the same college or school. To be eligible for membership on the Council, members must have Level 1 status on the Graduate Faculty. The term of office is three years. A vacancy on the Council is filled in the same manner in which the member vacating the position was selected. In addition to the faculty, the Council has one graduate student representative who is usually the president of the Graduate Student Association. She/he is a voting member, and the term of office is one year.

Ex officio members include the Dean of the Graduate School; Associate Dean of the Graduate School; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Associate Provost; Associate Vice President for Administrative Services; Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Dean of University Libraries; Director of Center for Distance Education; Director of International Institute; Chairman of University Committee on Courses and Curricula; Associate University Registrar; and Director of Institutional Effectiveness.

Scott Roberts, Ph.D., 2015 (Elected), Chair

Professor, Forestry College of Forest Resources

David Morse, Ph.D., 2016 (Elected), Vice Chair

Professor and Interim Head, Counseling and Educational Psychology College of Education

Ex Officio Members

Amy Adkerson, M.S.

Associate Registrar

Lori Mann Bruce, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School

Tim Chamblee, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Institutional Research & Effectiveness

Frances N. Coleman, M.L.S.

Dean of University Libraries

Jerome A. Gilbert, Ph.D.

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Julia Hodges, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs

Rebecca Long, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Jon Rezek, Ph.D.

Interim Associate Vice President & Executive Director, International Institute

Peter L. Ryan, Ph.D.

Associate Provost, Office of the Provost

David R. Shaw. Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Kirk Swortzel. Ph.D.

Chair, University Committee on Courses and Curricula

Steve Taylor, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Center for Distance Education

Elected Members

Tommy Anderson, Ph.D., 2015

Associate Professor, English College of Arts & Sciences

Pasquale Cinnella, Ph.D., 2015

Professor, Aerospace Engineering College of Engineering

Tim Barnett, D.B.A., 2016

Professor, Management & Information Systems College of Business

Russell Carr, Ph.D., 2016

Associate Professor, Basic Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine

Richard Harkess, Ph.D., 2017

Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Beth Miller, M.Ed., 2017

Professor and Director, Interior Design College of Architecture, Art, and Design

Appointed Members

Daniel Reynolds, Ph.D., 2015

Professor, Plant and Soil Sciences College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Ashli Brown Johnson, Ph.D., 2016

Assistant Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology, and Plant Pathology College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Lara Dodds, Ph.D., 2016

Associate Professor, English College of Arts and Sciences

Judy Schneider, Ph.D., 2016

Professor, Mechanical Engineering College of Engineering

James Adams, Ph.D., 2017

Associate Professor, Instructional Systems and Workforce Development College of Education

Steve Elder, Ph.D., 2017

Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Bagley College of Engineering

Dana Franz, Ph.D., 2017

Associate Professor, Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education College of Education

T. J. Bradford, 2015

President, Graduate Student Association